Call to nominate town’s police heroes

October 31 2018

People in Yate and Sodbury are being asked to nominate police men and women for the ‘Be Proud Awards’.

  The awards recognise those who work or volunteer for the Avon and Somerset police to make their communities safer. 

Police and Crime Commissioner Sue Mountstevens said: “Every year we see examples of dedication, passion, enthusiasm and bravery from all aspects of the constabulary and to be able to recognise and reward those people is humbling.” 

“I urge you to nominate those people who make a difference within our communities. Those who keep our communities strong; who put their own safety last; who work day and night to protect us all and whose sole intentions are to keep us safe.” 

The awards are separated into the following categories: Neighbourhood Officer of the Year, Response Officer of the Year, Investigator of the Year, Police Staff Member of the Year, Police Support Volunteer of the Year, Special Constable of the Year, Specialist Operations Award and Policing Team of the Year.

Chief Constable Andy Marsh said: “Many officers, staff, volunteers and special constables don’t perceive what they do as anything other than just their job, and that’s what makes these awards so special.” 

“I am proud to work amongst people who work so hard day in day out to support victims, bring justice to offenders and support our communities. Every nomination submitted means another person gets the recognition they deserve, and it’s brilliant to see the proud faces of their family, friends and colleagues when they receive their award.”

“I hope that you will submit your nominations and help us to recognise our policing heroes.”

An independent panel will choose the winners. The closing date for nominations is 27 January 2019, and the form is available on the Be Proud Awards website