Lib Dems make clean sweep of Yate Town Council in elections

May 03 2019
Lib Dems make clean sweep of Yate Town Council in elections

LIBERAL Democrats have made a clean sweep of Yate Town Council, winning every seat in Thursday’s elections.

Voting took place at the same time as the elections to South Gloucestershire Council, and the Lib Dems added all 17 town council seats to the five they won on the unitary authority.

The party’s nine candidates in Yate North ward – Mike Drew, Ben Nutland, John Davis, Chris Willmore, Sandra Emms, Jane Winterburn, Wully Perks, Karl Tomasin and Alan Monaghan – all polled more than 1,700 votes, putting them well clear of the leading Conservative candidate Liz Brennan, who received 1,011 votes.

Mike Drew topped the poll with 2,006 votes.

In Yate Central ward, John Gawn won the most votes, 1,434. The Lib Dem with the fewest votes, Penny Thoyts, received 1,338 – more than 800 ahead of leading Tory candidates Jo Lewis and Amy McNeill.

Just two seats were available in Yate South ward. Here, Lib Dems Tony Davis and Cheryl Kirby received 378 and 376 votes, respectively, ahead of Tory couple Ian and Shirley Livermore, who had 116 and 108.

In Sodbury Town Council’s North East ward, five seats were up for election. The three Lib Dems who stood, Brenda Allen, Linda Boon and Adrian Rush, were the first three elected, ahead of Tories James Ball and Roy Smith. Conservatives Steve Tubby, Susan Leese and Becky Romaine missed out.

There were no elections in Sodbury Town Council’s Old Sodbury and South West wards. As there were not enough candidates to force a contest when nominations closed in April, all those people who had come forward were elected unopposed.

In Old Sodbury ward, Tories Scott Gibson and Marian Gilpin, and independent Phil Rumney were elected. In South West ward, independent Linda Banister and Conservatives Gill Dyer, Christopher Hays, Dave Jeal and Matt Lewis were also elected.

It means the Conservatives have a majority on Sodbury Town Council, despite the Lib Dems topping the poll in the only contested election.

Parish councils in the area where all candidates were elected unopposed were Cromhall, Dodington, Falfield, Horton, Iron Acton, and Rangeworthy.