Pupils and staff at local schools win awards for achievement

December 22 2018

Brimsham Green, Chipping Sodbury School, Culverhill School and Yate Academy have seen staff and pupils acknowleged for their educational successes.

They were amongst over 100 pupils and staff from 18 different schools nominated by peers and headteachers in the South Gloucestershire Secondary Education Awards 218. 

The categories were; ‘outstanding progress’, ‘outstanding contribution to a school and wider community’, and ‘staff who have made an exceptional contribution to improving student’s outcomes’. 

At Yate Academy the award winners were teachers James Maggs (Head of Key Stage 3) and Gemma Davies (Head of Sixth Form); Charlie Ashpole (outstanding contribution), Scarlett Elliot (outstanding progress): Charley Johns (outstanding contribution), Mason Wakley (outstanding progress). 

Chipping Sodbury School’s winners were Maths teachers Emma Lynch and Rachel Thorpe; Madeleine Peeling (outstanding contribution), Josh Lilywhite (outstanding progress), Alexia Clifford (outstanding progress) and Jacob Bright (outstanding contribution). 

Those acknowleged at Culverhill School were Josh Goodman (outstanding contribution) Aydie McGuinness (outstanding contribution), Candice Swain-Forgan (outstanding progress), and 17 year old Jordan Foyle (outstanding progress) who was singled out for mentoring other pupils through sports leadership.

Brimsham Green’s Head of PE Ceri Parry and Head of Music Olly Balcome were recognised as was, Lawrence Northam (outstanding progress), Abi Swain-Forgan (outstanding contribution), and Marcus Jefferies (outstanding progress). 18 year old Marcus was was acknowledged for ‘working tirelessly’ to gain a place at Bristol University to study Physics whilst playing a full part in school life; 

Gymnast Claudia Fragapane, who was at the awards said: "It was fantastic to be part of this celebratory event and so inspiring to hear more about all the academic successes of those attending. The students and teachers have clearly worked really hard and deserve this recognition for their positive efforts."